Camcorder night time shooting

cazzie

DIS Veteran
I have just got my camcorder and I am having problems with the night shooting. I have put it on night but everything is fuzzy and looks like it is in slow motion it is fine if it is perfectly still but the minute their is movement its rubbish. Can anyone help I have never used one before so I don't know if I am not doing somthing or it is an extremely naff camcorder.

Thanks

Is it nighttime or nightvision ( GREEN ) night time will be jerky and fuzy with movement it does this by changing film speeds to capture more light .
Night vision uses an led light sourse thats nextto nakid to the eye and read green on the CAM.
hope this helps just try to hold very still and let the subjects do the moving.

It is Night View and it is 'to allow you to record colour subjects in dark locations to stand out against the background'.

I have tried keeping it still and my husband moved his arm but we are getting fuzzy almost like a strobe effect. :confused3

Thanks

Short of getting a quality camcorder with a fast lense on it (f/1.2 or faster), there really isn't much you can do to get good night color video.

There's not enough light for your camcorder to record. What's happening is the same thing that happens with a camera. When the light dims the camcorder can either open up the aperture, gain up the sensor (i.e. increase the ISO), or use a slower shutter speed. In these situations that you're describing the camcorder has already opened the aperture to the max (larger opening to let in more light), and set the gain to it's highest level (so that it's more sensitive to light). All that's left is using a longer shutter speed. If that speed falls below 1/30 of a second then moving subjects will be blurry.