Best good neighbor hotels + summer 2023 dates?

abidale

DIS Veteran
Hi, all!! My fiance and I are having our honeymoon in Aulani at the end of May 2023. We are then going to fly to CA for a few days to do Disneyland for both of our first times (though I am a seasoned WDW vet.) Two big questions:

1. What are your experiences with the Good Neighbor hotels/resorts? Do you have a favorite and why?
2. When should we expect to see Disneyland open booking for packages for Summer 2023? Surprised they're not open already, but I'm sure that's normal!

TIA!

Hi, all!! My fiance and I are having our honeymoon in Aulani at the end of May 2023. We are then going to fly to CA for a few days to do Disneyland for both of our first times (though I am a seasoned WDW vet.) Two big questions:

1. What are your experiences with the Good Neighbor hotels/resorts? Do you have a favorite and why?
2. When should we expect to see Disneyland open booking for packages for Summer 2023? Surprised they're not open already, but I'm sure that's normal!

TIA!

On good neighbor hotels:
We have stayed at 2 good neighbor hotels.

Park Vue Inn - 4 night stay, loved it. Being across the street was amazing and literally at the park gates within 5 minutes. Closer then Disneyland Hotel or Paradise Pier Hotel.

Motel 6 - 1 night stay since we landed late and we were going to be moving to Grand Californian the next morning. But yeah, Motel 6, no just dont do it.

I second the poster above on the Motel 6 being a NO. Stayed there a couple weeks ago. Not the worst place I've ever seen, but do not recommend, especially on a honeymoon!