Aulani twice or Aulani-DCL?

Which would you pick?

• Aulani twice (one alone, one with friends)

Votes: 3 18.8%
  • 7 night DCL alone and Aulani with friends only

Votes: 13 81.3%

• Total voters

justme0729

DIS Veteran
We have been on DCL twice in the past year- both Bahamian cruises and we have never been to Aulani. We bought DVC points at Aulani and we are considering using our points to go to Aulani during spring break by ourselves (2 adults) and then invite our friends (another couple) to stay with us 9 months later. But... I have a pretty good price on a 7 night eastern carribean cruise at $4200 with a verandah making it the same cost (including flights, food, excursions, etc.) if we were to do Aulani. I'm a teacher so this is one of the only spring breaks we have that happens to not fall during Easter making the cruise less expensive than usual ($6,000+ during holidays). But... part of me also wants to go to our newly purchased DVC resort ASAP and experience it alone first so we know what we are doing and can enjoy it sooner. But I do REALLY love Castaway Cay and DCL... I keep going back and forth!

Would you choose to do Aulani twice in a year (one alone, one with friends) or do a 7 night eastern carribean and then Aulani just once with friends? We wouldn't be able to make it back to Aulani again after the trip with friends for 2 years because we would be borrowing points.

Since both will be pretty new to you, I would go for 7night eastern then Aulani. You’ll be able to explore new ports and at the same time enjoy Aulani with your friends. Going on the 7night in DCL compared to the 3-4 night Bahamian has a different feel to it. It’s not too “rushed” and you’ll really enjoy your time in the ship. Aulani, on the other hand, is such a beautiful place. We own DVC points there as well and everytime we go, we make sure we stay at least a week to enjoy the beauty of the resort and the island as well. Have fun whatever you decide on!