• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

anyone ever sewn a Princess dress?

ohMom

Kids Get Arthritis Too!
maybe I'm thinking a bit premature - I can't even call for our potential CRT ressies until friday :) LOL

I was considering tackling a project of making a Princess dress for my DD for our Dec land/sea trip?

Any input from anyone? Any good patterns to look for?

I'm a very very beginner sewer - I have made a couple easy pattern jumpers and halloween costume and done some applique.

TIA:)

McCall's used to have Dis patterns. I made Cinderella and Snow White costumes for my niece when she was younger and both worked very well.

Before you purchase a pattern, check the directions to see if you're comfortable with them. The biggest suggestions I can give anyone who is making a Princess costumes is to purchase the right type of fabric. In order for the bottom of the gown to pouf out you might want to try something a little heavier than the average taffeta weight. I've had great success with the "Casa" collection from Joanne Fabrics, they have a nice selection of colors. They also have sheer fabric to match. I'd try to wait until it went on sale. All taffeta type fabric frays. I use my serger for the seams. If I didn't have a serger I'd try to french seam the bottom of the gown, or double sew the seam to help prevent fraying. French seaming is actually very easy to do. I can let you know how if you'd like. While I'm sewing anything I press the seams as I'm going along, I thing it makes a difference to the finished piece. I press a piece of scrap to get the right temp on my iron. You'll be very pleased with yourself when you're done. I loved to hear my kids tell people that their Mom made something.

Good Luck!!