Americans Buying Passes in Canada

MauraAndIainsDad

Mouseketeer
I read on mousesavers.com that Americans can save money on passes by purchasing their passes in Canada and taking advantage of the favorable discount rates. Has anyone tried this? Can I also use my DC discount to save even more? (I'm new to DC - haven't received my cards yet, in fact.) I occasionally travel to Toronto and have friends there so it is an option worth exploring.

The prices on the passes are constantly being adjusted to reflect the present rate of exchange and so there's no deal border crossing. I check everytime I buy passes and for a family of 4 I might save $2 alltold either way at best.
Tori

The person who shared this tip with me said the savings were in the TAX, not so much the exchange rate. He claimed there is no tax (either Florida or Canadian) charged on passes sold in Canada. If this is true, you've saved 6% right there, because all Disney Stores in the US charge Florida tax of 6% on the passes. Probably not worth a special trip, but if you're a US resident who goes to Canada regularly, it might be worth checking out.

If his information is definitely incorrect, please let me know so I can update the site.

Mary
MouseSavers.com

Thanks for the update y'all. Can I save in Canada using my DC discount? If I can save on taxes and save with my DC discount as well, then it might be a substantial savings. Of course, I wouldn't make a special trip to Canada but I do travel there occasionally and may be there before my trip in WDW in November. Again, I'm new to DC and am not quite sure yet how it works for getting passes. It's already saved me 20% on my room! Which more than covers the discounted cost of membership (thanks for that tip, Mary!) And thanks again, Mary for pointing me to Sue Pisaturo!:p