Advice on Grad Nite and late May

littlejewel

Mouseketeer
Family of four (kids 13 and 16) and We’ll be in Southern California the end of May (22-31). we’re planning on going to Disneyland May 23, 24, and possibly 25, before heading down to San Diego. I see that a Grad Nite is scheduled for Thursday, May 23. So my question is, when should we go to what park?

Option 1: Avoid May 23 altogether and just do the parks on 24 and 25 (Friday and Saturday)

Option 2: Go to Disneyland on May 23 and DCA on May 24 (as originally planned)

Undecided on park hoppers but we’ll def have Genie+ (or do we need both, or maybe hoppers but not Genie+??) Also, we’ll prob rope drop. I’m a total DL newbie as we’ve only been to Disney World. Thanks for any advice!!

Definitely rope drop! It is INSANE how much you can get done during rope drop. WDW could never haha. Genie+ also works soooo much better in DL than WDW. I don't think you HAVE to have park hoppers but I enjoy it because the two parks are yards from each other. Being able to cross over and hop on a ride in DCA and then cross right back over for a lunch in DL is amazing and takes minutes!

If Grad Nite is the only thing preventing you from doing 2 vs 3 days, I would always pick 3 days. But if you're only planning on 2 days total, I would stay out of the parks on Grad Nite days.

Grads can have a few different types of tickets, the most expensive being an all-day park hopper. I thought that being the most expensive would mean most of the grads would only be in DCA, but Disneyland was also pretty crowded. Grads also don't have to move over to DCA when their party begins if they have park hoppers. They can (and will) say in DL until it closes at midnight and then move to DCA.