• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

A Loss, An Illness, Our Very Own Peter Pan & Making Many Happily Ever Afters

Kelrykengab

DIS Veteran
Welcome to my very first Pre-Trip Report! I am new to this so hopefully someone will be interested in my craziness! First, I will explain briefly why WDW has become so important to me. In 2001, my 62 yo father who meant the world to me was diagnosed with a type of dementia that took away his ability to communicate and in the end all traces of the man I had adored my whole life. We lost him in 2005 after some very difficult years. My father had a wonderful life; traveling, had a family that loved him although he often told us he was going to "buy a house on a hill and live there by himself!" :rotfl:and he knew how to have a good time. He was in amazing health until 2001 and this experience taught me not to put off things thinking you can do them when you are older/have more $ etc. You just never know. Life is short. As if this was not a clear message to "stop and smell the roses", I (at the age of 31) was suddenly stricken with an illness that took away my muscle function and put me in the hospital for 2 weeks. I went from being an employee at the rehab hospital where I worked to being a patient there in a matter of days. I had to relearn how to dress myself, walk etc. . Nevermind the fact that I had a 14 month old son at home who I hadn't seen the entire time I was hospitalized. Through much determination and I think some angel intervention, I recovered and today I am myself again! I know how precious our moments on this planet are. So, I have decided we are going to live each moment to the fullest and WDW is part of our mad plan.