1st time ever going to WDW taking ASD DS

plbarnet

Earning My Ears
My wife and I have decided to go to WDW in October. We will be taking out DD who will be almost 3 at the time. We are so excited because she will absolutely love it. After much deliberation, we have also decided to take our DS who will be 5. He has ASD. My wife posts on another message board which has some people who also post on another disney board. They are very helpful but, I do research for a living and I tend to be obsessive compulsive (yes I am seeing a therapist and its getting better but thats another story). I have read through the posts on this board but just can't find the types of information that I need. I apologize up front for the length of this post.

As I said, my DS will be 5 and has ASD. He is entirely non-verbal and has sensory issues. Communication is on a very limited level. After 2+ yrs of speech therayp he has an active sign vocabulary of about 5 words. He understands many things but explaining things to him is not a real possibility. For example, he might really enjoy seeing a large Mickey, but if Mickey made any sudden moves toward him or at him it would likely terrify him to death as he would not understand. I would like to say that this is what my son would enjoy and this is what he would not enjoy but to be honest, we don't begin to know what to expect. My wife and I have typically sheltered him up until now and this will be a learning experience for us all. So I am trying to make plans, back up plans, and back up back up plans. My first question would be should I post my questions here (which would make for a REALLY long post) or should I try emailing other members? I literally have about 5 million questions that most people cannot answer because they don't think of WDW in the ways I need to consider it. I appreciate any help. Thanks.
Paul