Your steps for picture files from camera to computer?

wekhogan

Looking for a good book to read
I just started shooting Raw, and need some suggestions on processing. I used to take the photos from my card, save them to a file separated by month, then by event. I would preview them in Windows, then adjust the ones that needed it in PSE by right clicking and "open with".

Now I've got a 100 or so hockey game pics that I can't see in Windows. I opened them in PSE - but every time I fix one, it saves a copy - I can't change the original Raw (probably a safety feature?). Anyway, does this mean I'll be saving the Raw files, and a copy of those that I adjust?

My question is: what's your process for saving/viewing files?

Hi, I use a card reader and PE6 to transfer my RAW images.

Dependent on which make your camera, mine's a Canon 40D, you may (as I have) be able to download some codec which will allow you to view your files within windows, Which is a great help.

Hope this helps.

I am a Nikon guy, so I may be a little different but I use the Nikon Transfer utility to pull the files from the card. This places one copy of the file into a work directory, and another copy into a backup directory. From there I use ViewNX to make basic white balance and exposure corrections and then export the files to either JPG or TIFF, and from there any additional editing in PSE7.

In the spirit of disclosure I did get the main idea for this process from a post on this board. If could remember the name I would be sure to give them credit. But at any rate I have found it to work well for my needs.

JD

before I upload to my pc, I create a folder, then within that folder I create 2 subfolders..Raw & Jpeg,,I upload to the raw folder, then as I work on pics I save them to the jpeg folder

before I upload to my pc, I create a folder, then within that folder I create 2 subfolders..Raw & Jpeg,,I upload to the raw folder, then as I work on pics I save them to the jpeg folder