You all are going to think I'm stupid...

tammymacb

Under da sea, under da sea, darlin' it's betta dow
I've been married to my DH for 10 years. He was retired from the Navy when we met. He'd served his full ( term?) and retired with a pension and military ID. He took me to the Naval base after we married and I got a military ID too.

Well, I guess I had NO idea what benefits the card gave us. For 10 years we've had private insurance through our jobs. ( DH retired in his late 30s- I work in a hospital ) We've always paid copays...I NEVER knew that if I showed my ID we had Tricare standard which paid the copays/deductables.

I only knew that I got a military discount at Disney and Lowes. That's the only reason I carried the card.

What else am I missing? I'm sure there's a lot and I'm obviously way behind the curve after throwing away money for the last 10 years.

Thanks!

YMMV with discounts but this is the latest list I have seen.

Two important caveats. First, some stores offer discounts only at the owner’s discretion and other discounts vary by state. Second, many stores that give a military discount don’t advertise it. It is always worth asking a store whether they have one or not and to have your military ID on you.

A&W – Discount varies, simply ask and have a valid military ID with you. Aeropostale – 20% off in store, just bring valid military ID
Agentsource.com – Up to 40% off standard real estate closing costs for Active duty men and women moving in the United States or Canada
All State – Allstate Funding proudly offers all U.S. Military personnel a $250 credit towards the appraisal of a residential property. Ends 12/31/2010 American Airlines – Discount varies, requires military ID
American Video Productions -10% off to active duty, retired, families of military and dependents. Call and ask for the discount http://www.americanvideoproductions.net/
Amtrak – 10% off