Where and how do I start planning?

julesann

DIS Veteran
I am a DLR veteran and a complete novice for planning a trip to Universal. My dear niece is turning 30 and wants to celebrate at HPW (I don't even know if that is the right acronym) in June 2019. Any and all planning advice welcome.

What links should I read, and where are the best places for advice for complete newbies, books I might read? I have no idea about packages, hotels, tickets or touring. This will most likely be an adult only trip for about 10 (coming from CA) and I want to include all of Universal in our trip not just HPW.

There is an absolute ton of information in the stickies here. Go to the official UO site and read what they offer. Download the UO app and begin to understand the layout of the entire resort. Come back and ask more questions if you have them. BTW, the Wizarding World of Harry Potter (WWofHP) are 'lands' within each of the two parks (just like DL has their areas of similar themes).

I am researching/booking for a first time 3/2020 trip so here is what I am using...

Here for HP stuff this thread has had the best info...
https://www.disboards.com/threads/wizarding-world-touring-plans-and-details.3666427/

Univ overall Youtube videos are my personal preference for research...just find a YouTuber that doesn't annoy you (even better if you enjoy one!) and see their take/walk thru of the park.

Also figure out if you are going to stay onsite (you get early entry to HP) or if you have the money to stay at a higher level room to also get Universals (Express Pass) version of the FP+ except its a SINGLE use FP+ for MOST rides in the park.

Are you going to Universal Hollywood or Universal Orlando?

Decide when you are going.

Decide how many days you will be in the parks. Then look at tickets.

Decide where you are going to be staying.

For the hotels- research directly through Loews, not the Universal vacation page. The Loews site has a lot more helpful info!