My Journey to 50 miles (2nd attempt)... (comments welcome)

disneygpa

DIS Veteran
Hi All!! This is my first DIS board post, and hopefully won't be my last. I'm going to do my best to make post about my progress and training in here on my way to the Dopey challenge in 2020.

A brief history of how I got here:

I used to run all the time in high school, then I joined the Navy and did my best to live up to the Navy traditions! Slowly, life got in the way of running and I started packing on the pounds. 33 years later I was obese and tired. Now, I was 51 with two grandsons that I couldn't keep up with and I dearly wanted to be able to enjoy life with them!! In 2017 I decided to have weight loss surgery (bariatric sleeve). The surgery was a major success!! In 6 months I dropped 65lbs and started running again! Slowly at first, but I was able to get my training runs down to 9 min miles in 6 months! In late June 2018 I started training for my first half marathon.

Then, disaster. I totaled my baby (Camaro), and broke my L1 vertebrae and sternum, I'm now fused from T12 to L2. Doc said no running for 90 days :sad:. Well, my 90 days are up and I've started training again. Doc says 2 weeks on the bike before running, so I did my first bike ride last night. 45 min 15 miles on my stationary recumbent bike(sooooo boring). Physical therapy twice a week, 3 bike rides per week and I hope to start back running October 15th.

The plan is to start with C25K again and build back up! I've got to do a lot of core training along with the running. I've signed up to do a 5k in December, with plans to follow up with a 10k early next spring and a half marathon by Sept. Then I will switch my training to Hal Higdon's training for the Dopey.

I've never done anything more than a 10k, so the Dopey will be my first full marathon. I'll happily listen to all suggestions!!