WDW questions

Paulakoala

Mouseketeer
Hello, everyone. Total newb when it comes to WDW, we have only ever gone to DL. I'd like to surprise my family at Christmas with a Florida trip for sometime next year, but I have no idea when is best, nor when I should book. I have been poking round and reading but all the info out there is overwhelming!

If I were looking at spring 2020 - a year from now - when would I be able to book?

They release the next years prices for packages in June sometime. If you want a room only reservation, 499 days in advance.

I like to book directly through Disney, then as a discount is offered, I phone Disney and they will apply the discount. Have fun planning!

WDW is great, but just keep in mind that there can be potentially a lot more planning involved compared to DLR, so make sure you do your homework. Dining reservations open at 180 days, and you have to book your fastpasses ahead of time, which takes away the spontaneity (and also makes it more difficult to change park plans on the fly). MaxPass blows FP+ out of the water. Definitely a different experience from DLR, but both are great.

Very helpful, thank you both. :)

I was trying sample dates on the Disney site and could only get as far as January 2020 - any further dates were greyed out. And I could only access part of January, as an end date for a trip started in Dec.

I will keep researching and see what opens up in June. :)

One thing I've come to learn is going around Easter is a big no-no. It's right up there for crowds with other holidays.

End of April/beginning of May seems to be a safe time to go, based on my research.

One thing I've come to learn is going around Easter is a big no-no. It's right up there for crowds with other holidays.

End of April/beginning of May seems to be a safe time to go, based on my research.