Universal with type 1 diabetic

kt_mom

DIS Veteran
We are headed to Orlando next week for a missions trip with my daughters youth group. I go along as a room leader to monitor her bg overnight. Usually at the end of the week they spend one day in MK and we are well versed in how to do everything there. But this year I just found out the last day will be at Universal Studios. I have no knowledge really of this park or what to expect for her. She is on a Tslim pump and dexcom cgm. I usually carry a bag with some extra supplies and so does she with sugar and stuff. But I'm hearing that on some rides you can't carry stuff through the line? Does she need to take her pump off? And what about her test kit? I'm just wondering what to expect. I will be leading a group of girls and we will have to stay together as a group so I just want to be prepared.

Hi that is correct that you can't go through some of the lines with any bags or things in your pocket. It is for ride safety. There are lockers provided for free if you need one. Honestly, with a medical condition like this I would call Universal guest services and find someone who can help you with that answer. You will have a good time it's a great park! Good luck :)

You do not have to take the pump off on any ride. When you get to the metal detector, she will simply tell them she has an insulin pump and cgm. DH usually always has the pump in his hand as we approach so that if isn't an issue.

Everything else will need to go in the locker while you're on the ride.

But this year I just found out the last day will be at Universal Studios. I have no knowledge really of this park or what to expect for her.