Trip Cancellation :-(

kbmartin

DIS Veteran
Hey guys, just thought I would post an update. My DH and I are very likely cancelling our trip to TDR and Tokyo in early April. We are truly freaked out about the coronavirus threat level being moved up to 2. I have asthma; with this pre-existing condition, it just makes us so much more nervous. In addition, I'm a teacher, and the thought of bringing it home and to school is a real nightmare. We don't feel that we can justify spending this much money to have to worry every time we accidentally touch our faces, grab on to a railing as we walk down some stairs, etc. - stuff you would normally never think twice about. Going to Japan is a dream trip for us, and we want to just be able to enjoy ourselves without paranoia.

It sounds like we're going to be able to cancel our flight and get all of our money back, so now we just need to work on our hotel stay at TDR (we booked during the Hilton flash sale, meaning it's considered non-refundable... but so was our airfare, and we managed that...).

We're going to try to do this again next year for Spring Break once I analyze the dates and be sure there's no crazy holiday in Japan during that time (like Golden Week!). I don't think I would change anything about our planned itinerary, but there are some things I would do differently next time. I don't think I would book ANA Economy again, as they are so strict about changes/cancellation - I'd probably stick with an American airline. It hasn't been easy to communicate with them over the phone, and their website isn't always easy to navigate when I need help/information about something. I also might work with a travel agent for flight, accommodations, and perhaps travel insurance, as I could never really wrap my head around that and all the "loopholes." I have been driving myself crazy all week with trying to figure out how different travel insurance agencies could help in a dire situation like contracting the coronavirus.