Tokyo trip at Christmas (a report)

nono

DIS Veteran
Hey all, Loves Timone is expecting a trip report. I'm not really good at doing them anymore, but I'll give it a go here, if you'll accept summary form. :)
We are a family of 4, parents in mid-50s, kids in early teens. We got a killer airfare deal that involved a crazy run from PHL thru ORD thru LAX to HND. Yeah. Thank goodness we saved thousands. It was a little crazy, and I likely wouldn't do it again. We normally fly out of EWR, but this thing dropped in our laps Memorial Weekend for a travel date of Dec. 17, and we jumped on it. It became everyone's birthday and Christmas gift.

So, we landed in Haneda on Dec. 19 at 5:30 a.m. We did all our chores (wifi pick up, visit the fun areas of the airport, ship luggage ahead) and visited the Cafe Expasa on the 5th floor with a view to the runways. The 8:40 bus was either sold out or not running, so we took a cab. For the record, at 9 a.m. on a Thursday morning, it was ¥5100 from Haneda International Terminal to the Odaiba Hilton.

We enjoyed our 3 day stay in Odaiba. Our room slept the 4 of us, overlooked the Rainbow Bridge and the FujiTV building. Over the 3 days, we enjoyed shopping in Decks and AquaCity (we don't have malls near us), but found Diver City and the Venus Fort not for us. Totally loved MegaWeb and the History Garage and Team Lab Borderless. Went for a couple of runs through the area, and wished every park wasn't closed for reconstruction (dern!). One night we went into Tokyo to enjoy a couple of the Christmas light "Illuminations." Liked the ease of the Seagull err Yurikamome Line.