Thoughts on house maintenance budget..?

Maistre Gracey

DIS Veteran
We are building a house in Sebastian, Florida.
We have owned before, but it was a townhouse so much of the maintenance was covered through fees
I’m at a loss of how to budget for maintenance... everything from everyday small stuff, through a new roof every 25 years.
I’m fortunate that I’m starting out with all brand new stuff, but I realize I should put x amount of dollars away every year/month. Does anyone have a plan or spreadsheet for such a thing?
I’m really new to the house thing and NOT computer savvy.
I want to be prepared for the expenses in my future and not have an “oh shoot” moment.

Thanks for your help.

it's really going to vary depending on how much different types of maintenance services/repairs/replacements run where your new home will be (and there's the unknown of how much costs will go up over the years for big stuff). that said-since it's new construction you could buy a home warranty through one the companies like american home shield. that way if something breaks down (that's outside of your original builder/manufacturer warranty for certain items) you would pay a co-pay and they would cover the remainder. we had one on both our homes in california but found where we moved in washington there weren't enough local contracted providers to make it worthwhile (we do have a service contract on our hvac system though-it runs us $250 per year, includes a yearly system check and covers parts and labor-also bumps us to the top of the list for service call appointments).

i do a yearly budget for 'household upkeep' that i put 1/12th per month into. the money sits in a bank account until a particular expense comes up (with some they are mostly summer). my home maintainance over the course of a year includes-

pest service
yard service (weed spray/aeration/spring prep/winter prep-we do all mowing and such ourselves)
hvac service contract