The Greatest Week Ever -- Part 1

Jack & Monica

Mouseketeer
I and 15 members of my extended family just returned from a week-long trip to WDW. Most of the people on the trip had never been to Disney World so I volunteered to plan the trip. The 16 of us were broken down into 3 distinct family groups.
Group 1: Myself, wife, and daughter (9)
Group 2: Adult Niece, her husband, daughter (9), daughter (7), daughter (3),
Grandma, and Grandpa (husband's parents).
Group 3: Adult Niece, her husband, daughter (6), son (2), Grandma, Grandpa (husband's parents).
Pre-trip planning steps:
Since this was the first trip for most of my extended family, I wanted to make this trip as perfect as possible. I started about 18 months out.
I am an Army veteran, so the first question was how to best take advantage of the different options open to me to best benefit my family. The first question was quickly decided -- when to go. Since we had a number of school-age children and a few teachers to boot, we decided on the summer month of July which quickly became the last week of July 2014.
I asked my family what type of vacation did they want. Disney on a shoe string or the vacation of a lifetime. They all agreed on the latter. After checking out the Disney Visa program, I advised my family members to apply for the Disney Premium Visa to start saving for the trip. The premium costs $49 a year where the Disney regular card is free. The difference is that for gas, groceries, and all things Disney, you get 2% vice 1%. It did not take me long to figure out that I would make up the $49 in less than 2 months and gas and food alone. I strongly encourage the use of this card. It worked beautifully for us.