Taking a childs friend???

I have not brought kids friends, and my kids are FAR younger, so please take this with a grain of salt... but I'm a teacher and have taught that age group. I think the smartest thing you could do ahead of time is to establish a few really, really clear rules to keep the hyper behavior to a minimum. I think sometimes when kids have friends around they see it as "all fun time" or a "free for all" and I think its super important that your little guy and his friend know that while it's amazing to have a friend along, it's a special privilege.

I'd just think through what rules your little guy follows with you (I'm thinking around noise and physical stuff- how close he has to stay to you, behavior in lines, etc). Talk it through ahead of time, spend some time talking it through on the way to WDW, and then know that they're 7 and you'll probably have to remind them a lot the first or second day.

Maybe ask his parents how they get him cooled down when he gets wound up, excitable or hyper too. I know this sounds weird, but if my own kids start getting too playful or wild, I just have to make them look opposite directions and not talk to each other for a few minutes to cool down. I used that in my classroom too. Not that they're in trouble, but if I feel like their voices are getting too loud, etc, it really works!

I’m not sure if this is across state or across the country. Planes, trains or car ride ...besides food, allergies known or unknown, illness or even homesick. Best to be well prepared for anything.
Has this child ever traveled Just with you? Spent an entire day and/or an overnite? Been on travel with the their families?
I’d have many things organized for a guest trip with such a young child, that you know has atleast this one issue.

And your Anniversary trip..if you often , assuming ur nearby to ( one) of the parks... why not use an overnite quick trip.. maybe more about the kids rather than ur family Anniversary vacation trip?