Southwest booking disappointment

snoopy5386

DIS Veteran
We always fly SW and I am always ready to book on release day - I was ready for Thursday and then when it got rescheduled I was ready for Monday, but then they went and released them today!!!

By the time I got home almost all the wanna get away fares for our return trip were sold out already!! Do they ever release more wanna get away fares? Right now I can pay $199 pp for a really late flight - we wouldn’t land until close to midnight and I will have to go to work the next day - a Monday so I don’t really want to get home that late, nor pay that much for the privilege.

Our outgoing flights were decent ($124 pp) and I was able to use all my RR points to book them. But I need to pay cash for the return. Paying $800 for all of us for crappy flight times feels crazy, but I don’t really have many other options. I work in a school and this is a long weekend trip over a school break so I have zero flexibility. I can fly spirit for a lot cheaper, but their latest flight that day is at 3 pm so that basically wastes the whole day - we will have no time for anything. It’s only a 4 day trip to begin with....plus it’s spirit. But there are zero other non stop options from MCO - BWI. I don’t know what is happening on October 20th to make all these flights sell out so quickly!

We're in the DC area, too. Dulles and National are a lot closer for us, but Southwest has eliminated all nonstops between Dulles and MCO and cut back a lot at National. So maybe part of the problem is that a lot of us who would have flown from IAD and DCA a year ago have to go to BWI now. We decided to fly on another airline since the times were better and the prices are comparable, but if we went SW we'd have had to go in and out of BWI.

I think a lot of people are disappointed. For example I'm closer to BWI but I need to fly to Tampa rather than Orlando .