Should a homebody/introvert apply for DCP?

floatingzoo

Earning My Ears
Hello! I am currently a freshman in college and am highly considering applying for the fall 2020 term of the disney college program. However, I am rather introverted (I'm not necessarily shy, I just don't enjoy socializing in large groups/quantities) and very much a homebody. I am currently taking online classes because of my location (I didn't want to move away for college, and there weren't any schools close enough to take classes in person.) I've been wanting to do the DCP since hearing about it in middle school. I've been dreaming about it since then, and only recently realized, "Hey! I could actually do this now!"

Being an introvert, and knowing that I'd be at work all day with so many people, I worry about never getting any time to be alone with so many suite mates. I am very close to my family, and being far away from them is the largest thing I worry about. The longest I've ever been away was two weeks, and I couldn't wait to get back home by the end of it.

I was wondering if I could get your advice on this, and perhaps here about your experiences in the program? Thank you so much!

Last edited:
I don't have experience with DCP but I'm sure some other families will come along and share theirs. My son is HS senior now and he's interested to go to DCP at some point over the next few years. He's a bit introvert/homebody as well but has worked at a Boy Scout camp the past 2 summers staying there for almost 7 straight weeks last year, and I must say it was great for him. He came back with more confidence and learned alot in that time away.

My advice would be to consider:
  • Will not trying DCP be something you might always regret not doing? And probably continue thinking about the 'what if' and 'I shoulda' thru life? Trust me, it's no fun to realize you should've taken advantage of an interesting opportunity once it's too late.