Red eye flight

AZMermaid

DIS Veteran
I know, right- EEK!!!

DH and I are planing on running Princess challenge in 2019. We are strongly considering taking a red eye on Thursday night. We live in Phoenix. How bad of an idea is this? Here are our reasons:

Days off- I am a teacher, DH has limited days. We plan to late Thurs-Tuesday. The only really workable alternative leaves at 4:00PM and gets in at 11:00PM. We'd need to take a half day.

Kids- our then 8 and 7 year olds will be home with their aunt. The flight leaves at 9:00, so we could have dinner and pick them up from school. If we took the earlier flight, that would be one more day she'd be on kid duty after school vs getting there right before bed time.

Flights- A few years back, I won 90,000 United miles in some promotion they were having. I later got the credit card so I could bridge that 100K mark and then some. We are planning on using these miles because they are getting close to expiring (I cancelled the card before a year and the fee hit). United doesn't fly direct from Phoenix. The flight we are looking at flies to LAX first and then to Orlando leaving at like 11PM getting there at 6:30 FL time. I felt like this long flight would give us the best opportunity to sleep. We would be getting first class tickets because the coach ones are almost the same amount and flying coach doesn't leave us with enough miles to do much of anything later. We don't generally fly United because everything connects.

We would then pay or use miles to fly American direct back. American does have a direct overnight... but the flights back on United connect. If we take the American flight, we can leave at a reasonable time and still be back in time to get the kids from school.