Really need some advice, trying to pick between 2 dates

Ducky'sMom

Mom to a smol bean and a spicy potato <3
After I graduated in June, I've become dead set on wanting to go to Disney. We only have 1 child and she's going to be 9 in February. The idea got in my head about doing a trip during her birthday, and I was determined to make it in AoA LM. However, it seems the LM rooms don't have any accommodations except Feb 1-7 (which would only be 5 full days for us), and I wanted a full week. (Apparently, my stubborn heart is set on many things.) Those dates are also within the 180 day mark already, so trying to get ADRs might be an issue.

So I looked ahead to March, and found what I wanted... it just wouldn't be Ducky's birthday. I know, it's silly of me to find this conflicting, as March is the more reasonable choice, but I guess I got excited at the thought of decorating the room and door, getting the "It's my birthday" ears, and surprising her for her birthday. She's wanted to go and loves Ariel! Would 5 days at Disney be enough for us first timers? Or should I wait until March and tell her we're going and that we'll celebrate her birthday during the trip still? I just feel so silly, but I'd love others' thoughts.

If you're set on doing a full week during her birthday, consider a split stay. You can do some of the days in the LM rooms, and a couple days in another room. With 1 child who is a little older, it shouldn't be too hard to move.

You can still get tons of ADRs and even get hard to find ones using TouringPlans Reservation Finder. In March, you have to consider spring break crowds.