Questions about wheelcahirs and elderly family member

cinderellawannabe

Earning My Ears
Hello! I'm new to this discussion board and sought it out so that I could hopefully get some help planning our upcoming trip. Everyone here seems to have a vast wealth of knowledge and I would appreciate any advice or tips.

We (myself, husband, mother, grandmother and sons, ages 18 & 6) will be taking an 8 day trip to WDW this July to celebrate my older son's high school graduation. As he is going away to college and my grandmother is in "fragile" health (has extreme difficulty walking, but is mentally clear as a bell and looking very forward to this trip) I kind of feel it will be our last big family vacation together, so I want it to be very special. We've been to WDW before - this will be our 7th trip since 1988 - and have used a wheelchair for my grandmother, but it has been 3 years since our last trip and she requires a great deal more assistance now.

We will be staying at the Poly, and I was wondering what longhouses are recommended and how is the transportation from there to other areas (like MGM and Downtown Disney). I've read what people have written about the buses, but was wondering if folks have more success and less waiting time if they take a bus from the Poly rather than the TTC. I also requested one of the "raised" toilet seat adapters for the bathroom - has anyone else used this, and do they work well? I keep thinking perhaps I should rent one from a medical supply company. We will be driving, and have a handicapped placard for our van - is it easier to drive places rather than depend on the Disney transportation (keeping in mind that it is a bit difficult for her to get in and out of the wheelchair and into the van)?

Finally, any advice anyone has to offer would be greatly appreciated. I'm trying so hard to plan ahead to ensure that we all have a memorable time, but I feel like there are so many things I'm not anticipating. Thanks so much:)

Hope