PSA on buying SoCal Tickets with a Giftcard and a ?

goodeats

DIS Veteran
Just an FYI to others that may have been trying to do the same thing. I am a SoCal resident and am planning on purchasing the SoCal ticket with Maxpass. I've been accumulating gift cards at Ralphs for the fuel rewards and with my cash back Amex to save a little money. I transferred all the gift cards to one card with $750 on it, which I tried to use on the DL website today to purchase the tickets. For maybe obvious reasons you have to put some portion of the charge on a credit card with a SoCal billing address and not use a gift card. If I knew ahead of time I would have managed to put $671 on one gift card and used that for the purchase and $1 on my CC. Unfortunately, the website does not let you allocate payments by amount and there's no way on the Disney GC website to transfer a partial balance.

So, my options are:
* Drive down to Anaheim this week and purchase the cards at the ticket window prior to our visit next Friday
* Purchase over the phone for a $5 charge and still have to go to the ticket window when we visit it the first time
* Get to the park extra early and buy the tickets the first day we visit

If we go with the last option, how much of a headache will it be? It's a 9am opening at DL and no early entry. Most people probably don't buy the tickets in person anymore right? Will the maxpass work right away?

Ticket booths typically open one hour prior to the parks opening (as do the parking lots). I don't recall if there is a drop-off on Harbor anymore, but if there is, I would drop off the members of your party there, have them go through security and buy the tickets while you go park the car.