Poly booked for March, but should I cancel?

WDW_Diane

DIS Veteran
DH and I have a DVC studio rental reservation for March 2021 at Poly, my spring break. I now regret making the reservation as the refurbishment was announced right after I made the reservation. This is supposed to be our first time stay at my dream resort but Poly doesn't seem dreamy at all right now, based on the construction and closures.
I bought the points rental insurance but will still lose about $400 all told if I cancel, which I'm considering. I'm a teacher and I really hate to lose the money, but I don't want the stay I've dreamed of for 30 years to feel like less than expected. What would you do? I feel like trying again for Fall Break October 2021 or Spring Break March 2022.

Your chances of a DVC rental for fall break at Poly are super duper bad if your fall break is typical and near Columbus Day. Spring 2022 is far better odds of both booking and stuff being open.

Honestly, based on what you said, I think you will regret going and should cancel. It won’t be the same experience, especially given the monorail shut down, and the Epcot monorail not running from TTC with no date yet announced when it will.

I agree with other that getting a Fall DVC reservation may be tough as people are booking already.

But, given what happened, be sure you are comfortable getting into another rental as this is one of the drawbacks...you can’t just change or cancel and can lose money, regardless of refurbishments that could be announced after you book.

I don’t think I would cancel. It’s your spring break, and you’re going to be in WDW! It will not be as convenient, but you will be at the Poly. If you can’t get excited about the stay, by all means cancel, but I would not.

I don’t think I would cancel. It’s your spring break, and you’re going to be in WDW! It will not be as convenient, but you will be at the Poly. If you can’t get excited about the stay, by all means cancel, but I would not.