Our 2019 New Year's Vacation to the World, including many tips, Completed

newfamilyman

DIS Veteran
DVC Silver
My family (DW, our two teenagers, and I) just returned from a week at WDW during one of its busiest times, New Year’s week. I wanted to share our experiences and tips which will hopefully help others with their trip planning and overall vacation enjoyment.

Part 1: Trip planning

I am a points-and-miles hobbyist, and I thought I would share our experiences with airfare and hotels. I usually book travel as far out as possible, since we tend to plan our vacations a year ahead or more. We live in Los Angeles, and LAUSD has a three-week winter break. We usually travel on the final of the three weeks, which this year turned out to be New Year’s week. I booked an incredible deal on Alaska Airlines for $79 per person on the former Virgin America LAX-MCO non-stop leaving Saturday morning the 29th. Unfortunately, a few months after booking the flight, Alaska decided to abandon this route. While they refunded my money, it was too late to get a one-way for 12,500 miles per person. As a result, I ended up going with Delta, which had a non-stop for 20,000 miles per person. Not a great deal, but not the worst, either. Later, when American Express had an offer to get $60 back on a $300+ purchase on Delta, I was able to “upgrade” to Delta Comfort at almost a buy-three, get-one-free deal. It’s always worth checking American Express offers regularly, since great deals can suddenly materialize.