Official Star Wars Weekends Thread Tips and Tricks 2015

Status
Not open for further replies.

yulilin3

DIS Veteran
Starting this thread a month earlier than last year because several people have asked me, and let’s be honest, is it really too early to start planning for SWW? I will update this thread with any new information we get as to keep everyone updated on this awesome event that WDW puts together each year for us. A little background on myself: I'm a 41 year old mom of 2 teenagers and I love SWW. I'm an Orlando resident and an AP for the past 15 years. I've attended SWW every year for the last 11 years so I know a thing or two about it.

Here's some information about SWW:
It started back in 1997 with 5 weekends from February 21st thru March 23rd. They skipped 1998 and 1999 and then changed the weekends to all May from 2000 to 2001. Again they skipped 2002 and then the dates have stayed consistent starting in 2003, from the last 2 weekends in May and the first 2 weekends in June.
Here's the link to SWW 2014 if you want to see what and when did things happen, the first post has all that info http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3183780

2015 dates were announced and character meals opened for booking December 3 2014
Host and Fireworks announced Feb. 17 2015
Galactic Gathering merchandise event announced March 3rd 2015
D Tech Me announced March 27th 2015
VIP Tour Ultimate Day at SWW announced April 3 2015
Celebrities announced April 3 2015
Shows announced April 3 2015
FP+ went live on April 3 2015
Premium and Deluxe Premium booking started April 6 2015
Rebel Hangar opened for booking May 4th 2015

DHS official opening time is at 8am with 2 Fantasmic! shows, at 9pm and 10:30pm during SWW (unofficially it opens around 7:30am)
Great Movie Ride closes at 8:00 pm because of firework fall out
Toy Story Midway Mania closes at 8:15pm because of firework fallout