Need help with Tokyo.

Bethany Brown

Wishes 91
I’m planning a trip for Disneyland Tokyo and I’m overwhelmed. It will be on a budget and I don’t know how to go about searching for cheaper flights, hotels, how much to budget for food and merchandise. If anyone can give me some insight on this I would greatly appreciate it. I know we want to to sightsee as well and go for maybe two weeks. Do we stay at a Disney hotel the entire time? Or change hotels?

If you're on a budget avoid the Disney hotels entirely. You'll want to stay in actual Tokyo for the sightseeing leg as they're some way apart. I got an Airbnb in Okubu and it was criminally cheap and very well located.

For cheaper flights book as soon as they're released. I also saved £400 by flying indirect but I probably wouldn't do it again

It's super overwhelming. I plan trips for a living (travel agent) and plan my family trips all over the world, but planning our upcoming Japan and Hong Kong trip has been a challenge. A fun challenge, but a challenge!

The best way that I have found to get the cheapest airfare and hotel is twofold: One, search a package on Expedia to include round-trip flights and your Tokyo hotel only (you can pick to just have your hotel for part of your stay). Second, search the largest cities within driving distance as your airport. Also, you can use Kayak to search a range of dates to see which days will be the cheapest to fly on and use those for your Expedia search. I was able to get my family a very good deal for this summer using this method. We are then staying in Hilton Tokyo Bay for our TDR portion of our trip.

Another way to save money is to look into AirBnbs or VRBO rentals. These are not only cheaper than hotels, but you can cook, which saves a ton of money. You can also open up a hotel reward card that is having a big sign-up bonus. We prefer IHG, so I am also getting free rooms in Hong Kong and Hiroshima and Narita. In Hong Kong it's the Intercontinental Hong Kong!