My internal GPS doesn't work at SSR

rutgers1

DIS Veteran
So, the other day, en route to Downtown Disney from one of the parks, I decided to hop on the first bus I could get on -- either SSR or OKW -- and then take the boat across. The SSR bus came first, so I enjoyed an air conditioned ride by myself.

I got off the first stop, If I recall. I did a 360 degree turn, trying to find the main building. No luck. All I could see was condo-like buildings that all looked the same.

Lucky me, a nice young couple came walking in my direction. I asked them to point me in the direction of the main building. They laughed. The woman said, "We have been staying in this building all week (pointed behind her), and we got lost trying to find that pool (pointing to one of the quiet pools). OK, so no luck.

I continued walking. As it turned out, I was walking the right way. Suddenly, a guy from bell services pulls up in his gold cart and asks if I want a ride. Of course, I accept. I asked him if he could tell that I had no clue where I was going, and he laughed. He said, "For the first month that I worked here, I had the map taped to the steering wheel of the cart."

I have the world's worst sense of direction. That place is just too much for me. Even though OKW is also big, I find that all roads lead back to the main building. Truth be told, I also had some trouble finding my way around the Boardwalk and Beach Club, as I kept popping up near an exit that wasn't the one I wanted to be at.

I need a a new gps!

i can totally relate (good thing the law requires seatbelts, otherwise i would probably get lost in my car :rolleyes1).

that's the great thing about WDW tho: hallways and walkways can lead to somewhere interesting, but still safe (e.g., i've found secluded seating areas & shortcuts, met lots of ppl, saw a bald eagle at SSR, etc - none of which would have happened if i had any sense of direction).