MS disability

momz

DIS Veteran
I have been to WDW many times with DH and kids. But it's been about four years since our last trip. Now, DD will be a senior in high school next year and she has asked for one last "childhood" WDW trip.

I love the idea. However, I unfortunately, was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in May '17. I feel like I am still learning about how this disease has changed what my body can do. But, I have come a long way!

I'm scared about planning a trip. I'm wondering if I can physically do this.

I have balance problems. I have sensory loss and can't feel my feet. Some days I'm ok and my disability is not noticeable to others. Other days, I use a cane.

I'm worried more about standing, than walking. i sway when I stand. It's like I don't have a sense of where my body is in space.

I want to go. But I'm scared. I worry about falling. I also worry about making it through the days. Fatigue and heat make symptoms worse.

We are considering late December/early January. So I have time to figure this out.

Keep your head up. My oldest sister has MS and she is struggling with walking. It is a nasty disease! I think if you take it slow and do what you can. Rent a scooter for the parks so you can stay sitting and not worry about falling. Good luck to you and I hope you go and not let this disease win!

MS is a disease with many facets. I took a young friend to WDW who had just been diagnosed with MS in 2004. She had no issues at all. Her mother had more mobility issues - like walking up the stairs at OKW.

I am of the belief that one uses whatever tools that one needs no matter the diagnosis. I do not have MS but I have major issues. I am like a 3 legged stool with one leg missing. Use whatever tool that you need. It may be a cane, it may be a rollator or it may be an ECV or wheelchair.

You absolutely can do this trip. But you may need some tools to help you.