• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Mom of recently enlisted son....new to ALL of this...needs HELP!

bobbijo8

Earning My Ears
Hello, my name is Bobbi Jo and I am brand new to DIS boards. We (my son, his girlfriend & I) just returned home from a "magical" 17 day vacation at the BC Villas in WDW where I met a fellow DVC member who told me about this site. My only child, Robert (18 years old), recently enlisted in the US Army with a delayed-entry date of Sept. 14th. Then, he will be heading to Fort Benning, Georgia for boot-camp (He wants to be an Army Ranger). I know NOTHING about the military life or what to expect. However, I DO know that I am extremely PROUD of him for making this decision, especially since college was an option for him. But, I am having a very difficult time adjusting to all of this....so, I will gladly accept any advise/support from fellow Disney lovers. And, I look forward to making new friends, too.
Thank you!:earsboy: :sad: :earsgirl:

I was in your shoes last year when my oldest DS joined the Army. There are a lot of us here so ask anything you need to know!! Tell your DS how proud we are of him!! Oh and I almost forgot, Welcome to the DIS, there is not a nicer group of people on the internet!!!

Raejean

Hi Bobbie!

My name is Robin and I am married to a SFC in the army. In fact, 3 years ago he was a drill instructor in Ft. Benning Ga. We are now stationed in NY.
I was already married to my husband when he entered the military, so I know how it feels to be a "newbie" to this lifestyle.
If you have any questions, feel free to ask, I'll answer if I can.
Your son should be proud of himself, as I know you are proud of him too.:sunny: