Lockers/Bag Free question

curlymom

Earning My Ears
We normally go bag-free at Disney, this is my first time at universal and the info on lockers/bags is confusing to me. If I get a 3 prong fanny pack to hold my cell phone, do I still have to check it into a locker at every ride that has them? It sounds like you have to use the lockers at Hulk even with fanny packs, where else? Are you allowed sunglasses/hats? I'm trying to decide if it's worth it to buy a fanny pack before we go, the locker system with social distancing seems to be a stress point.

If I get a 3 prong fanny pack to hold my cell phone, do I still have to check it into a locker at every ride that has them? It sounds like you have to use the lockers at Hulk even with fanny packs, where else? Are you allowed sunglasses/hats?
The locker system is much easier than it sounds. Three prong fanny packs are permitted on all locker rides except for the Hulk and Rip Ride Rockit, which are the two most intense rides in the parks. For Hulk and Rip Ride Rockit, you will be required to put anything that is on your person in a locker except for a lanyard holding your ticket/express pass and glasses. So any fanny packs, wallets, phones, hats. I would suggest sunglasses too unless they are prescription. You will go through a metal detector when entering the queue for these rides and the ride attendant will give you the once over to confirm there's nothing on you or in your pockets. If they see or find something, they'll send you to the locker bank.