It's a long way to Paradise...

AusAnnie

Mouseketeer
Hi everyone: I’m new to Disboards – well I have been lurking for a little while, anticipating and planning our holiday to Disneyland, Las Vegas & Hawaii in April.

Let me introduce us: I’m Annie and my husband is Tony and we live in Adelaide, Australia so it’s quite an epic trip for us to the States. We had already planned to take 4 weeks off work in April 2016 quite a while ago but didn’t actually start booking anything until November 2015. As the Australian dollar is not fabulous at the moment we were trying to get the best value possible for our money. This brings us to the LONG LONG journey we took to arrive at our first destination – Disneyland!!!
usa%20trip%20april16%20iphone%20561_zpspxcityu8.jpg

Last edited:
The 2nd of April finally arrived and a lovely friend dropped us off at the Adelaide airport.

We left Adelaide at 10am on our first flight and arrived in Sydney about 2 hours later. After lining up for our next flight (Jetstar to Honolulu) for about 20 minutes only to be told once we had finally reached the front of the queue that we couldn’t check in for another 2 hours. Arrgh – so suitcases in tow we wandered off to find some food and try to kill some time. Eventually 2 hours had passed so we headed back toward the check in desks to join the queue again! All went well with the check in and we headed through security and towards the gates. We found a comfortable spot, Tone found a beer and we logged onto the wifi to follow our football team’s game on the internet. Finally it was time to board!! The flight left on time and was uneventful – but long!! It was approximately 9 hours to Honolulu and we didn’t really get much sleep. We had pre-booked the entertainment package so both managed to watch a couple of movies, play some games and watch a few tv shows.