Is TDL or DS even worth it in late July?

tentaguasu

Mouseketeer
I've heard that the crowds in late July and early August are out of control.

I had been planning to be in Japan in early July, before kids were out on break. At that point, I was thinking one day at each park.

Now, with a trip date of late July, early August, I'm thinking of skipping TDL and only doing DisneySea... but I'm even worried about that.

Given that DS's most special part is the theming and ambiance, is that effectively destroyed with that many people? Is it so bad that it's not really fun anymore? Or is it manageable and still a great experience?

For reference, this is my first time and may be my last time in Japan. I'll be in the Tokyo area for probably 5-7 days.

My family and I are going to Japan from July 10-19, 2018.

We got the airlines and hotel reservations (staying at 3 different locations). We are planning to purchase Tokyo Rail tickets, Tokyo Disneyland and Tokyo DisneySea tickets.

We understand humid and hot weather and large crowds during the summer. We are alright ....don't know the next time we will travel to Japan.

I'm going 7/21 because like you said I don't know if I'll be back to Japan. If you get there are rope drop you can at least guarantee 2 big rides (FP for one and standby for the other) and even if the rides get long everything I've heard is just walking around is great.

DisneySea is more managable. It's bigger and has less eticket ride. You can skip toy story since its the same as in America. Grab ToT FP then standby line on Journey.

DisneySea is more managable. It's bigger and has less eticket ride. You can skip toy story since its the same as in America. Grab ToT FP then standby line on Journey.