Is current summer 2021 availability standard?

Zimwicket

Mouseketeer
I'm new to reserving time in the summer, and also new to having enough points to book a 1BR for over a week. I'm wondering if the availability I'm seeing is standard or is this "covid availability"? I was all prepped to potentially walk some reservations, but it doesn't look like that will even be needed, especially for 1BR! Is it that July makes the experience miserable and folks know to stay away? This is the first year we can't pull our daughter out of school so we are stuck with this timeline, but just curious if this is standard or not!

Summer has been a much easier time to book than most other times of the year (even before COVID impacted everything). 1 bedrooms are the last to book up. IMO, there is no need to walk a 1 bedroom for a summer reservation UNLESS you are trying for concierge or value at AKV. Those are the only 11 month exceptions. 7 months may be just a bit more difficult for some of the less expensive booking categories at the near-park resorts, but not enough to bother walking. JMHO. YMMV.

I book 1 beds and summer as above is normally where you want, even busier times like Xmas you can usually get most places.

Summer in the past has generally been a low to moderate demand time with July 7 to 31 being the second lowest demand time of the year. (Feb 1 to the Thurs before Presidents Day is the lowest.) It is usually somewhat higher in June and August. As noted, 1BRs generally have even less demand than other rooms during that time.