Insights on mask-wearing from those who already wore them "before" covid

Starwind

DIS Veteran
I'm deliberately keeping this in the Disabilities forum because you're generally a kinder lot than the wider forums, and I think it is more relevant here.

This is NOT//NOT a thread for debating weather people should be mask-wearing or the rules regarding mask-wearing, and such discussions are not welcome.

Rather...

For most people, mask wearing is new. At best, you may have had to wear a lightweight medical mask when visiting the doctor's office, particularly if you had a cough. However, for some of us here on the Dis and in the Disabilities forum in particular, mask-wearing has been part of our life for a while, possibly years, for any of a number of reasons. Immunocompromised. Severe asthma with environmental triggers. Severe allergies. MCS. The list of reasons goes on.

I am one of these people. I have been mask-wearing since the 1990's, though the extent has certainly changed over time. For nearly a decade now, from spring to the end of fall I wear a mask nearly every time I go outside. And I wear a mask nearly always when I am outside and often when inside on trips to WDW and on DCL cruises [we have done Disney trips Sept through Feb, though prefer December].

I thought it might be useful for those who are new to mask wearing -- whether comfortable with them or having issues or helping a family member who is or is epected to have issues -- with some tips and ideas and thoughts from the experience of those of us who have been "doing it" for a while.

The idea of this thread is POSITIVELY HELPING OTHERS. So lets keep it positive, please.

Some initial thoughts...