Inadequate Wifi at Disney Paris

Discussion in 'Disneyland Paris Trip Planning & Community Board' started by msnewfie, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. msnewfie

    msnewfie Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    i found the wifi to be very poor at Disney Paris.

    It prevented me from accessing character greetings in the Studios Park.

    Being an international traveller, using my personal data was not an option , and I was unfamiliar with their method of booking a character greeting time using an app other than the disney app, which I did have on my phone,( not that it was much good with inadequate wifi to show me current wait times).
     
  2. BadPinkTink

    BadPinkTink DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,706
    I feel your pain, as I am in the same position when I go to Disneyland California. Due to the inadequate park wide WiFi at Disneyland California, as an international visitor, I am unable to use Maxpass.

    However, I can't see Disneyland Paris investing in park wide WiFi any time soon. Their main target audience and the majority of people who visit are European. There is an European Law which means that there are no data roaming charges in European countries. This is a new law in the last 2 years. This means that I can use my Irish phone in France and it won't cost me any more than it would in Ireland.

    Disneyland Paris has a legacy of huge financial problems so park wide Wifi has now probably gone way down the list of things to fix
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
    Cassy4 and markpsych like this.
  3. Avatar

    Advertisement


  4. msnewfie

    msnewfie Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    When there is an app, for wait times and so on, I expect it to work in the park.
     
  5. BadPinkTink

    BadPinkTink DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,706
    want some cheese with your whine??? yes there is an App so what?? Its EXACTLY the same for me in Disneyland California. I CANT USE THE DISNEYLAND CALIFORNIA APP DUE TO INADEQUATE WIFI!!! I CANT USE MAXPASS IN DISNEYLAND CALIFORNIA DUE TO INADEQUATE WIFI

    I cant use my phone in Disneyland California to check wait times, or do mobile ordering for food.
     
    cazspence likes this.
  6. Karin1984

    Karin1984 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,217
    Calm down, Tink, the people on the other side of the pond are different ;-)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2018
    cwis and BadPinkTink like this.
  7. nursejackie

    nursejackie DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,095
    We went to DL in June and feared the same problem but bought MAXPASS anyway, and it defintely better than we thought it would be. There are wifi hot spots all over the park, and we were always able to get access to book our next MAXPASS. It's a great system, as you can book your next one before you've used your booked ones (as long as start time has passed). I wouldn't let the poor wifi reviews put you off, we are glad we didn't.
     
    closetmickey likes this.
  8. olafLover

    olafLover DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    975
    They are working on it! There used to be no WiFi and now there is poor WiFi, so it's getting better! Give it time (and the lineberty thing is only in Studio's, where the WiFi has a better coverage, so they did do it on purpose like this I think, but with the amount of guest, you will need a very strong connection for there to not be poor WiFi)
     
  9. Moliphino

    Moliphino DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,854
    When we went last year we only had wifi at our hotel and in Disney Village. We made do, same as everywhere else I go in Europe.
     
    BadPinkTink likes this.
  10. mathgeek

    mathgeek DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,351
    I was expecting this to be the case and was pleasantly surprised when I was able to get wifi access in the parks. It didn't always work, but I wasn't counting on it in the first place, so it was an added bonus.
     
  11. Tinkerbellish

    Tinkerbellish <font color=blue>Is neither sappy, nor pathetic...

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    It absolutely is an option. All you have to do is buy an international SIM card with data/phone on it or purchase an international plan from your provider. It'll cost you like $40 USD. Sounds like a case of not performing due diligence.
     
    cazspence likes this.

Share This Page