I Lost My Job!! A Pre-Trip Report (w/pics) Updated 9/15 (post #29)

DeterminedOne

DIS Veteran
You read it right. I lost my job. Six weeks ago. It was unexpected and very disappointing. Who wants to lose their job right before a trip to Disney? Who wants to lose their job at all? :eek:

My background is Safety. The company I worked for recruited me from the company I was with the last five years. Recruited, as in hired a third party company to find them a Safety Manager. They found my resume on a job board, so it wasn’t a position for which I even applied.

One of their drivers had been involved in a major accident. He was inattentive and crashed his semi into a line of vehicles stopped in a construction zone. There were six fatalities, including a two month old child. They needed help. Their Safety department was a mess! Wrought with problems in their driver workforce and record-keeping. Not a good thing in an industry governed by the Feds.

I am results driven, and high off the energy of solving problems and getting things done. At Christmas time, the owner of the company gave me a hand written card that read “I cannot express my appreciation for how much you have been able to accomplish in such a short time.” I had been there three months at that point.

So what happened?

When the COO let me go that day he cited too many empty trucks as the reason. Too many trucks, not enough drivers. A common problem in the industry. Truck drivers just don’t want to be away from home all the time anymore. My husband has been a truck driver (car hauler) for 32 years. He has regrets about the time he missed with his kids because he was always on the road. Nowadays, he has enough seniority on the job to be home every night. He would not take it well if he had to go back over the road. Me either. :sad2: