How does renting DVC points work

khwags22

Earning My Ears
I’m new to this and was curious how one rents DVC points. When do Feb 2020 points become available to rent. Are specific points for specific resorts? Thanks all in advance.

I’m new to this and was curious how one rents DVC points. When do Feb 2020 points become available to rent. Are specific points for specific resorts? Thanks all in advance.

"Renting points' is a bit of a misnomer - you are essentially paying a DVC owner (directly or through an intermediary) to book a reservation for you.

Each contract that is owned by a DVC Member has a designated 'Home Resort". For me, that's Saratoga Springs. What that means is that I can book Saratoga - and ONLY saratoga - 11 months a head of time. So, I could book Feb 2020 in March 2019 for SSR. For all of the other resorts, the booking window is 7 months out. So, the answer to 'when' depends on the owner and the resort you want.

Whether or not you need the 11 month advantage will depend on the unit you want and the time of year. AKL concierge and value rooms at any time, certain room categories at Epcot resorts during Food and Wine, Wilderness Lodge at December, and a few other would require booking 11 months to the day (and still may not be available). Other times you may be fine with 7 months.

You pay a certain dollar per point - one of the major intermediaries charges between $13.50 and $14.50 per point needed. So, look up the points charts for the resort, time and room you want and multiply by that amount and that's the charge.

Note - if you 'rent points', the reservation is controlled by the DVC Member. So, if you want to add the Dining Plan or Magical Express, you have to do it through them. Also, cancellation terms are generally much more restrictive as there are consequences to the member if reservations are cancelled. Upfront non refundable payment is not unusual.

On the bright side, it can be a great deal!