HOA and Resort Availability

Sean Denns

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone. I am very new at this so I apologize if I am doing something wrong. I have been a DVC member for over 20 years. I have 4 contracts in Boardwalk and Saratoga Springs. I have seen many changes to DVC from the cost of points, Reallocation of points, perks/benefits being taken away and most recently the increase to HOA dues. I guess I would call myself a true middle class person who loves Disney but on a strict income. Though with these cost for HOA dues going up the way they did, if this continues I will not be able to afford them at this rate. Not sure if that is what Disney wants but that could happen soon if this continues.

So I tried to look at the positive and told myself, I still love to use my points and stay at my home resorts or one of the other great ones. But over the past year I have found it very difficult to even find any availability. I have tried to book right on the 11 month window, and my home resorts continue to state "nothing available". I have never had this problem in the past until this past year. So I ask, has DVC over sold at these resort.? Has DVC reduced the number of rooms for DVC members? Every time I am told (even trying to book out 11 months) that there is nothing available but when I call in to book with Cash, its like a miracle and there are plenty of rooms to purchase. I am trying to use my points but I can't. Nothing is ever available for points but always plenty of rooms to pay cash.

I have been a DVC faithful for 20 years but with these HOA cost, Reallocation of Points, perks being taken away (Like Valet parking for an example) and now not even be able to use my points due to nothing available, I am trying to decide is being a DVC member good or not. At this point I am very reluctant even recommend DVC to anyone.

Does anyone have any thoughts or help on any of these topics, especially trying to use my points.

Thanks

Sean Dennis