Help!! DVC for Dummies

KyleAfterAWhile

DIS Veteran
Hi. Dummy here.

I am still relatively new to DVC and not real sure how to go about accomplishing what I need to accomplish.

We are taking somebody to Disney next year, my parents, as a gift because they have taking us on so many expensive vacations. We would prefer to have a two bedroom villa at animal Kingdom kidani, but we are about 17 points shy. We could do two studios, but mom and dad really like the idea of being in the same room and we all like having a washer/dryer So we don’t have to pack as much or reuse towels.

I looked at David’s DVC rental, but it doesn’t really work that way. . My friend has DVC at AKV and has enough points, which she offered me at a VERY GOOD $ per point, BUT, she cannot do a transfer as she has already done hers for the use year. I considered transferring my points to her and letting her book for us, but neither of us want her to have control of the reservation.

I called Member Services and asked them if I could buy the point difference and in short it would be astronomical.

What are my options? What can I do?

Last edited:
1. Get a 1 BR, and let your parents have the Master BR.
2. Stay one less day.
3. If you are looking at a Savanna view, consider downgrading to Standard.
If AKL is your home resort, try to get a Value.
4. Wait until you have another UY of points.
5. Get on the thread for Renting points and hope someone would be willing to Transfer points to you.
6. Pay cash for one night and then have the rest on the nights on your DVC points.
7. If your trip is long enough, consider a split stay. i.e., start with 2 studios at SSR, then end the trip with a 2 BR (or 1BR).

EDIT: Your original post had you short 40 points. Now you're only 17 points short?
8. Sharpen your pencil until you are even with points needed. :)
9. As others have mention since your recalculation, purchase OTUP's at 7 months.

Best of luck.

Last edited: