Group Camping for 55 people

Mr. Meador

Earning My Ears
I am a high school teacher in Miami and would like to take 48 students and some chaperones to the group camping section of Ft. Wilderness. I have been many times in my RV but never with a group in tents. Who could I contact to get info on this? I want to set up activities before I go in November. Where would I even begin??? Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Mark
Miami

Wow, Mark. That's a big undertaking.

I had a brochure from the Fort Check-In desk with group camping rates and rental information on cots/tents. I took a picture and posted it in this thread a couple years ago:

https://www.disboards.com/threads/camping-gear-rentals.3331588/#post-52311701

See post #3.

In case Photobucket decides to *poof* my account any time soon, the phone number in that brochure for group camping is 407-939-7807. I don't know if that's still a good number but it's a place to start and if it's not the right place, hopefully they can get you where you need to go. At the time of the brochure, tent rentals were $30 a night, cots $5 a night, and the camping fee was $10 per person per night. The tent pix I show had 3 cots in them but that's really too tight so figure two people per tent to have room to stand up and a bag for each person.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

Bama Ed

PS - my first trip EVER to Fort Wilderness was decades ago in the group camping area, Creekside Meadow. I thought the place (WDW, Fort Wilderness, Creekside Meadow, [all of it]) was magical.

Last edited:
Thanks so much for your help! That is great. Ft. Wilderness is one of my favorite places to go so I thought I would show some of these Miami kids, something most have never seen before. I sincerely appreciate your input. Thanks for the information and assistance.

Wow, Mark. That's a big undertaking.