GAC question

disfan07

DIS Veteran
I have never used a GAC before. Have never even needed to consider it. I did us a wheelchair once when I was 6 months post surgery but all of my other chronic illnesses are just dealt with using my own judgment and knowing my limitations.

However, I was just recently diagnosed with eosinophilic gastroenteritis. On my good days I am about 75% of my normal self and can tour normally. However, with this disease, for me, I have times where I need to find a bathroom immediately. There's really no telling when it could happen. I could feel perfectly fine one moment and then then next be nasueas and need a bathroom. Sometimes it happens right after eating and sometimes it can happen hours later. My food allergies definitely trigger flares and since I don't have complete control over my food in Disney that is a little more of a concern especially since I have some triggers we can't identify yet.

All of that long winded explanation leads me to this.....would there be any point of getting a GAC? I know I've read in the past about people with colitis, Chrons, etc getting them but I'm still not sure. Basically, the only reason I could even think we would need one would be if we have to leave the line for an emergency and come back later. Would that even be a possible accomodation?

I mean, we are planning this out as best as we can. We have been at least a dozen times before so we know how to tour but this is new for us. We plan on using fast passes and will really try to not get into long standby lines but sometimes things happen and sometimes a 30 minute line will be fine and sometimes it won't be. I also plan on stopping at the bathroom all the time just in case so I'm hoping I don't have issues but after spending 19 days in the hospital because of this, I've learned just how unpredictable it can be....no matter how much planning you do.