First Trip to DL - One day Only - Any advice welcome

Cinderella94

I miss my tags!
Hi all!

This is my first time ever visiting the DL forum - I consider myself pretty knowledgable about WDW, and I'm a planner (I'm all about rope drop, making our FPs in advance and making ADRs) but DL is completely foreign to me. We're visiting Aulani this January for our honeymoon and are going to stop and spend one night at Disneyland on the way there (we live on the east coast). Haven't booked flights yet, but are envisioning landing at LAX around 10:20 AM, checking into one of the resort hotels and then going straight to DL for the day. If this past January's park hours hold true for next year as well, the park will be open until midnight.

I'm not even sure what questions I have - my Birnbaums book and Unofficial Guide are on their way in the mail. Is it too broad of a question to just ask, what should my general game plan be for the day? I'm currently only envisioning doing DL and not DCA - is this a good plan? Any and all advice, however lengthy or short, is appreciated!! Thanks in advance!

....then let us help you narrow down the questions....

what day of the week?
are you into Disney history or ride as many as you can?
thrill rides or story telling texture?
eat on the go or need a sit down
Parades or bucket list attractions
do you mind riding the same attraction over and over?

Start with this thread: A DLR Guide for WDW Vets. Come on back with any questions (that thread will help you know what/how to ask)!
Perfect! Thank you, I will definitely read that thread.

....then let us help you narrow down the questions....

what day of the week? Saturday (January 19th)
are you into Disney history or ride as many as you can? a little bit of both worlds? For my fiancee's sake, I'll lean toward the riding more side.
thrill rides or story telling texture? Either. Both are good