First time to Disneyland

figment74

DIS Dad #211
I have been a fan of the Disney Parks for years. I've been to WDW more times that I care to admit. My job is such this year that I'm finding myself in SOCAL at least once a month. When Galaxies Edge reservations opened up last week, I was lucky enough to get a time on June 7th.

So I decided to buy an Annual pass to DL. I will easily be able to spend many days in the coming months, at the park. This weekend, will be my very first time ever in the Magic Kingdom at DL. I can't wait!

Here is my question. This is my very first time in DL, and I know that this park is smaller than the one in Orlando. What are some the key differences between WDW, and DL? With only 10 hours to explore the park this first time, what are my Must do's for this time.

Thanks for your input.

OMG!!! I'm going to Disneyland!

1. it is not called Magic Kingdom
  2. the main park is called Disneyland
  3. the second park is called California Adventures
  4. Go to Google Maps and familiarise yourself with the layout
  5. Disney property is a square shaped piece of land
  6. There are three security bag check areas.
  7. One security bag check area is located on the East side of the property, at the pedestrian entrance on Harbour Boulevard
  8. Downtown Disney, the Disney hotels and the main parking structure called Mickey and Friends are located on the West side of the property.
  9. One security bag check area is located at Downtown Disney
  10. One security bag check area is located at Mickey and Friends parking structure.
  11. There is a central esplanade, approx the size of a football field that connects Downtown Disney, Harbour Boulevard and the parks.
  12. Disneyland is located at the north end of the esplanade
  13. California Adventures is located at the south end of the esplanade
  14. The Fastpass sytem can be accessed in two ways
  15. You can obtain a free paper fastpass by using the kiosks in the park