First time going to Disney!

tom11114

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone! Fell upon this site using reddit and was told that this is a very knowledgeable board, but this is a lot to take in.

I'm planning to go to Disney World next month, but didn't realize how much involved this will be. It was a last minute trip since my girlfriend and I were able to get our vacation days aligned, but now I feel like this can be a pretty bad idea since we're complete newbs and this probably isn't enough time to plan so hopefully you guys can help.

I was hoping to get a reservation at a Disney resort, but looks like that's no longer an option. What would be a good alternative while keeping the Disney spirit alive?

Fast-pass? Worth the costs?

Thanks in advance guys!

Why can't you get a reservation at an onsite resort? Fast passes don't cost anything, so you don't have to worry about that.

Book your resort as soon as you can. If you can't stay on property, try the swan and dolphin resorts.

What exactly are you wanting to do, and for how many days? There are four parks and they're all worth a visit, even for first timers, but if you only have a day or two, you'd have to narrow things down.

It really isn't that hard to plan a last minute trip, you just have to have some idea of what you'd like to do

You may be a bit late to the party, but it doesn't mean the fun is over. Depending on your dates, you may still be able to get an onsite hotel if you are flexible with which one you want to stay at. You'll see a huge variance in prices depending on what's available and what tier the hotel is. Disney defines the resorts into the following categories:
  • Value - low frills but solid service. These resorts will have a quick service dining location ( think cafeteria ) and a shop for sundries and souvenirs.
  • Moderate - rooms are a bit larger than the Value. More themed. Resorts will have a quick service and some have a table service also. You'll also have a shop for sundries and souvenirs.