First Time at Disneyland - Help!

Missouri Girl

Wife, Mom, Entrepreneur, Lover of Life
Ok, folks, I need help! We are going to make our first trip to Disneyland sometime during the week of Christmas. Terrible timing, but we are visiting my son and daughter-in-law for the holidays and this is the only chance we will have to go. We know the crowds will be at capacity and this is certainly not my first choice but we have decided to embrace the opportunity to see this park and make the best of it. We've been to Disney World 5 times and I'm a pro at avoiding crowds and lines there, but I am out of my element here. We have adjusted our expectations and know we won't get to see everything, although we do plan to get there very early. That said, I do have a few specific questions and I knew this was the place to ask!

1. My son is active duty military and we will be using his discount to purchase tickets. Is there a discount for a single day admission? We plan to purchase park hoppers so we can see both parks.

2. If the best deal is a multi-day admission, do we need to use the days consecutively? We won't be there over one day this trip but we are going back out next year.

3. Recommmendations on eating in the park? Should we just do counter service and try to see everything as much as possible or should I try to get a reservation at a must-see table service place? If so, what are your favorites?

This is part of the Christmas present for the kids, and we are really looking forward to seeing it, especially at Christmas. I should add that I used to frequent the boards (mostly lurker mode) but it's been so long I can't remember my login info and had to create a new one.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. If the best deal is a multi-day admission, do we need to use the days consecutively? We won't be there over one day this trip but we are going back out next year.