Entertainment Rate vs. Annual Pass Rate

tiberius

DIS Veteran
I am new to Universal Hotels, but will make my first trip next Memorial Day weekend. I recently made a reservation where the Entertainment Card rate was only $2 better than Annual Pass rate.

Is there any reason I might want to reconsider and go with the Annual Pass rate instead?

I'm confused .............. I didn't think the AP rates were out for May yet?? :confused: On my last trip (January 2004), the AP rates were better than the Entertainment rates by $20 per night. What were you quoted for an AP rate for Memorial Day weekend?

The dates for my reservation are nights of May 30 and 31, and I was quoted rates for Entertainment (which I booked), annual pass, Fan Club and AAA. I do not have the quoted rate handy, but they are in ascending order of price as I listed them. I called on night of January 13 and got these. I had called a few days earlier and no annual pass rates were quoted.

Back to my original question... As the Entertainment rate was only $2 per night lower than Annual Pass rate, is there any reason I might want to reconsider and go with the Annual Pass rate instead?

Thanks for the heads-up on AP rates being out. For $2 more, I would probably go with the AP rate simply because I think you have a better chance getting your Lowe's Welcome Gift and any upgrade that's available. I've read of some here on the boards that booked with an entertainment rate last year & had a little trouble getting their Lowe's perks. I am in the same boat as you. I have the ent. rate booked for $144 for May, but now that I found out today that AP rates of $146 are available, I am going to switch my reservation for the reason mentioned above. Plus, that's one less card I have to worry about packing :)