Do people ever trade home resorts

ericar

Mouseketeer
Do people or can people make reservations at the 11 month time and trade with someone else at a different home resort so they would book at 11 months also? I am new to DVC.

They could but working out the deal to keep it equal might be a pain. You can also transfer points to someone else but only once in or out per UY and according to the rules you can't get paid for the transfer.

:earsboy: Bill

Do people or can people make reservations at the 11 month time and trade with someone else at a different home resort so they would book at 11 months also? I am new to DVC.
People can and do "trade" reservations but there is quite a bit of haggling over what is fair.

For instance, a week at a standard view studio at VGF during Sept. F&W would run 125 points while a BWV Boardwalk View studio during that same week would only be 107 points. Is it a fair trade to just swap reservations? One might contend that while VGF is nice, being able to walk to Epcot during F&W has great value. OTOH, those VGF points cost a lot more to purchase, so....

And therein lies the rub. As a BWV owner, I would look at how valuable that reservation is during Fall Frenzy. As a VGF owner, I know how much more I paid for those points so that I have the home resort advantage to get a studio there. And if you own at SSR, I would have a hard time accepting a 1:1 trade for my VGF reservation or points.

In all honesty, I think that it would make more sense to rent out your points at your home resort and then rent a reservation from someone who owns at the resort you want to stay at.